Medicare Advantage health plan
UnitedHealthcare Transportation Providers: How Medicare Advantage Rides Reach NEMT Companies
UnitedHealthcare Medicare Advantage plans send routine rides to the vendor named on each plan's vendor information sheet. For 2026 that is often SafeRide Health, which has UnitedHealthcare member pages for 36 states and Washington, DC, and sometimes MTM Health, as on the Michigan plan MI-V001. United Healthcare transportation providers get these trips by joining that vendor's network in their counties.
- UnitedHealthcare Medicare Advantage plans name their ride vendor on a one-page 2026 sheet titled "Ready to use your extra benefits?"
- SafeRide Health has UnitedHealthcare member pages for 36 states and Washington, DC, and 25 of them share one line, 866-244-3123.
- MTM Health books rides for some UnitedHealthcare plans, such as the Michigan Dual Complete plan MI-V001.
- For 2026, 237 of UnitedHealthcare's 274 ride plans are special needs plans, built for people with Medicaid, a chronic condition, or nursing home level care.
- Members book at least 2 business days ahead, and a will-call return must be picked up within an hour.
UnitedHealthcare Medicare Advantage rides at a glance
- Who books the ride
- The vendor named on each plan's 2026 vendor information sheet. Members call it directly or use the number on their UnitedHealthcare card.
- 2026 plans with rides
- 274 of the 828 UnitedHealthcare plans sold to individuals (33 percent). 237 of the 274 are special needs plans.
- Special needs plans
- Rides in 163 of 193 dual eligible plans and 28 of 29 institutional plans, for people who need nursing home level care
- Trip limits
- Median 24 one-way trips a year. Most common: 24 (128 plans) and 36 (84). Only 9 plans have no limit.
- Distance
- 50 or 75 miles each one-way trip, depending on the plan
- Booking window
- At least 2 business days and at most 2 weeks ahead. Discharges, dialysis, chemotherapy, radiation, wound care, and urgent care can be booked 4 hours ahead (UnitedHealthcare member page, February 2026).
- Will-call returns
- The transportation company has up to one hour to pick up once the member activates the return (UnitedHealthcare member page, February 2026)
- Vehicles
- Car, van, taxi, shared rides, and lift-equipped and bariatric wheelchair vans. Stretcher rides only in some plans, such as FL-0028 in Miami-Dade.
- Approval
- None of the 274 ride plans requires authorization in its 2026 filing with CMS
- Where the plans are
- 43 states and Washington, DC. The most ride plans are in Texas (32), Florida (25), California (24), and Georgia (14).
Statewide rules in AlabamaStatewide rules in ArizonaStatewide rules in ArkansasStatewide rules in CaliforniaStatewide rules in ColoradoStatewide rules in ConnecticutStatewide rules in DelawareStatewide rules in District of ColumbiaStatewide rules in FloridaStatewide rules in GeorgiaStatewide rules in HawaiiStatewide rules in IdahoStatewide rules in IllinoisStatewide rules in IndianaStatewide rules in KansasStatewide rules in KentuckyStatewide rules in LouisianaStatewide rules in MaineStatewide rules in MarylandStatewide rules in MassachusettsStatewide rules in MichiganStatewide rules in MississippiStatewide rules in MissouriStatewide rules in NebraskaStatewide rules in NevadaStatewide rules in New HampshireStatewide rules in New JerseyStatewide rules in New MexicoStatewide rules in New YorkStatewide rules in North CarolinaStatewide rules in North DakotaStatewide rules in OhioStatewide rules in OklahomaStatewide rules in OregonStatewide rules in PennsylvaniaStatewide rules in Rhode IslandStatewide rules in South CarolinaStatewide rules in South DakotaStatewide rules in TennesseeStatewide rules in TexasStatewide rules in UtahStatewide rules in VirginiaStatewide rules in WashingtonStatewide rules in Wisconsin
UnitedHealthcare does not keep one ride vendor for its Medicare Advantage plans. It names the vendor plan by plan, on a one-page sheet it gives members each year, so the company booking rides in Miami can differ from the one in Michigan. To get UnitedHealthcare trips, find the vendor on the sheets for the plans sold in your counties and join that vendor’s network.
Which vendor books UnitedHealthcare rides
The 2026 evidence of coverage for plans such as TX-0043 and FL-0028 ends its routine transportation section by pointing to a “Vendor Information Sheet” on the plan’s member website. The sheet is titled “Ready to use your extra benefits?” and lists the routine transportation vendor with its phone number. UnitedHealthcare’s member page on the benefit, as posted in February 2026, says the same thing another way: members call the number on their card or call their transportation vendor directly, and trip requests vary by vendor.
These 2026 sheets name the vendor:
| 2026 plan | State | Ride vendor on the sheet | Number |
|---|---|---|---|
| UHC MedicareMax Medicare Advantage FL-0028 (HMO), H5420-001 | Florida (Miami-Dade) | SafeRide | 1-888-462-6043 |
| UHC Preferred Dual Complete FL-Y3 (HMO-POS D-SNP), H1045-065 | Florida (Palm Beach) | SafeRide | 1-888-462-6043 |
| UHC Complete Care Support ST-1A (PPO C-SNP), H2001-037 | Illinois | SafeRide | 1-866-244-3123 |
| UHC Dual Complete ME-S2 (PPO D-SNP), H2001-069 | Maine | SafeRide | 1-866-244-3123 |
| UHC Dual Complete NY-S002 (HMO-POS D-SNP), H3387-014 | New York | SafeRide | 1-866-244-3123 |
| UHC Dual Complete MI-V001 (HMO-POS D-SNP), H2247-003 | Michigan | MTM | 1-888-777-4065 |
SafeRide’s UnitedHealthcare pages
As of September 30, 2026, SafeRide Health has UnitedHealthcare member pages for 36 states, Washington, DC, and UnitedHealthcare Group Retiree. Twenty-five of the state pages share one phone number, 866-244-3123. Florida, Texas, Ohio, Kentucky, Louisiana, Kansas, Virginia, Massachusetts, Nebraska, North Carolina, Idaho, and Washington, DC each list their own number. The Florida page adds a separate line, 888-462-6043, for Preferred Care Partners, Preferred Care Network, and WellMed members.
UnitedHealthcare sells ride plans in seven states where SafeRide has no UnitedHealthcare page: Connecticut, Hawaii, Indiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, and New Jersey. Michigan’s MI-V001 sheet names MTM Health, and MTM’s member app page lists “UnitedHealthcare Medicaid and Medicare (national).” In the other six, read each plan’s sheet before you apply anywhere.
Florida sources disagree
UnitedHealthcare’s provider administrative guide, effective April 1, 2026, lists ModivCare at 1-888-774-7772 for transportation in its Preferred Care Network and Preferred Care Partners sections. The 2026 member sheets for FL-0028 and FL-Y3 name SafeRide instead, and Modivcare’s Florida facilities page still lists a “UnitedHealthcare Medicare National” line, 1-866-418-9812. Treat the member sheet as the plan’s word to its riders, and ask SafeRide and Modivcare in writing which UnitedHealthcare plans each one books in your counties.
What UnitedHealthcare plans cover in 2026
CMS’s 2026 plan benefit package file lists 828 UnitedHealthcare plan options sold to individuals, leaving out employer plans. Of those, 274 file a supplemental ride benefit. Most of them are special needs plans:
| UnitedHealthcare plan type | Plans | With rides |
|---|---|---|
| Dual eligible special needs plans | 193 | 163 |
| Institutional special needs plans, for people who need nursing home level care | 29 | 28 |
| Chronic condition special needs plans | 94 | 46 |
| Plans that are not special needs plans | 512 | 37 |
| All UnitedHealthcare plans sold to individuals | 828 | 274 |
Only 37 of the 512 regular plans carry rides. So most UnitedHealthcare ride plans are built for people with Medicaid, a qualifying chronic condition, or a need for nursing home level care.
Among the 265 ride plans with a yearly limit, the median is 24 one-way trips. The most common limits are 24 (128 plans), 36 (84), 48 (16), 12 (14), and 60 (12). Every ride plan lists van as a mode, and 271 also list car or livery service. None of the 274 marks the benefit as needing authorization.
Texas has the most UnitedHealthcare ride plans (32), then Florida (25), California (24), Georgia (14), Nevada (13), and Washington (12).
Plan documents show how much the same benefit varies:
| 2026 plan | Area | One-way trips a year | Stretcher |
|---|---|---|---|
| AARP Medicare Advantage from UHC TX-0043 (HMO-POS) | Atascosa, Bandera, Bexar, Comal, Guadalupe, Karnes, Kendall, Medina, and Wilson counties, Texas | 36, up to 50 miles each | Not covered |
| UHC MedicareMax Medicare Advantage FL-0028 (HMO) | Miami-Dade | 60, up to 50 miles each | Available if needed |
| AARP Medicare Advantage from UHC CA-004P (HMO-POS) | Los Angeles County, California | 24, to medical appointments and pharmacies | Not stated in the summary |
| UHC Dual Complete MI-V001 (HMO-POS D-SNP) | Michigan | 24, including gyms and pharmacies | Not stated in the summary |
Both evidence of coverage documents say the member pays for any rides past the limit, and that ambulance rides are not part of this benefit.
The booking rules your dispatcher will see
UnitedHealthcare’s member page on the benefit, as posted in February 2026, and the 2026 plan documents set these rules:
- Booking window. Members book at least 2 business days before the appointment and no earlier than 2 weeks before it.
- Short-notice rides. Hospital discharges, chemotherapy, radiation, wound care, dialysis, and urgent care can be booked with less notice. Urgent and same-day requests still need 4 hours.
- Will-call returns. A member can leave the return open. Once the member activates it, the transportation company has up to one hour to arrive. See will-call trips.
- Shared rides. Members may share a trip with other riders.
- Curb to curb. Drivers do not have medical training. They may help with a wheelchair or walker, and members bring their own assistive devices. See curb to curb.
- Companions. One adult, 18 or older, may ride along on each trip.
- Ways to travel. Rideshare for riders who can walk to a car, ambulatory NEMT for riders with a cane or walker, and wheelchair or XL wheelchair NEMT in accessible vans. The general benefit leaves out stretcher trips, mileage reimbursement, mass transit, and air travel, though some plans such as FL-0028 add stretcher trips.
- Distance and destinations. Each trip is capped at 50 or 75 miles one way, depending on the plan. Destinations can include doctors, pharmacies, dental, vision, and hearing visits, and in some plans gyms and grocery stores.
For dialysis riders, the trip limit matters. A three-times-a-week chair schedule needs 312 one-way trips a year, so a 24-trip plan covers about a month of it. See dialysis transportation.
How to get UnitedHealthcare trips
- List the plans in your counties. Search Medicare Plan Finder by ZIP code and note each UnitedHealthcare plan that lists routine transportation.
- Read each plan’s vendor sheet. It names the ride vendor and its number. The Preferred Care Network site, for example, posts one sheet per 2026 plan for Miami-Dade and Broward.
- Apply to SafeRide where the sheet names it. SafeRide wants your NPI and EIN on its form, insurance with SafeRide listed as additional insured, and complete driver and vehicle files, and it holds network providers to on-time, acceptance, and complaint standards. Our SafeRide Health provider guide lists them.
- Apply to MTM Health where the sheet names MTM, through the application on its service providers page.
- Offer the vehicles these plans ask for. UnitedHealthcare lists XL wheelchair rides and lift-equipped and bariatric vans. Stretcher work exists only in plans that add it.
- Ask about next year in October. New benefits and vendor sheets take effect January 1, and UnitedHealthcare’s Medicaid plans in Texas and Florida both changed ride vendors in 2026. See when a broker changes.
Group retiree plans
UnitedHealthcare’s employer and retiree plans carry their own ride rules. SafeRide has a separate UnitedHealthcare Group Retiree line, 844-876-6177. The 2026 City of Seattle group plan gives rides only after a hospital or nursing facility stay, through its Healthy at Home program: 12 one-way trips up to 50 miles each, a new referral after each discharge, stretcher trips if needed, and booking at least 2 business days and up to 30 days ahead.
UnitedHealthcare Medicaid and Dual Complete riders
UnitedHealthcare’s Medicaid plans pick their own ride vendors state by state. Since January 1, 2026, SafeRide books Texas Medicaid rides, and since March 1, 2026, MTM books Florida Medicaid rides. For Dual Complete members, who have both programs, see UHC Dual Complete transportation and Medicare Advantage transportation.
Who to call
| For | Contact |
|---|---|
| UnitedHealthcare rides through SafeRide, most states | 866-244-3123 |
| Preferred Care Partners, Preferred Care Network, and WellMed rides in Florida | SafeRide, 888-462-6043 |
| UnitedHealthcare Group Retiree rides | SafeRide, 844-876-6177 |
| UHC Dual Complete MI-V001 rides in Michigan | MTM, 1-888-777-4065 |
| Transportation companies that want to join SafeRide | team@saferidehealth.com or (855) 955-7433 |
| Transportation companies that want to join MTM Health | The application on MTM’s service providers page |
Brokers that arrange UnitedHealthcare Medicare Advantage rides
Frequently asked questions
Who provides transportation for UnitedHealthcare Medicare Advantage plans?
A vendor that each plan names on its 2026 vendor information sheet. SafeRide Health is on the 2026 sheets for plans in Florida, Illinois, Maine, and New York, and has UnitedHealthcare member pages for 36 states and Washington, DC. MTM Health is on the sheet for the Michigan Dual Complete plan MI-V001 and lists UnitedHealthcare Medicaid and Medicare on its member app page.
How do I become a transportation provider for UnitedHealthcare?
Apply to the vendor that books UnitedHealthcare rides in your counties, not to UnitedHealthcare. Find the plans sold in your area on Medicare Plan Finder, open each plan's vendor information sheet, and note the routine transportation vendor. Then apply on SafeRide Health's NEMT provider page or MTM Health's service providers page and ask which UnitedHealthcare plans need capacity near you.
Does UnitedHealthcare use SafeRide for Medicare Advantage rides?
For many plans, yes. The 2026 vendor sheets for UHC Complete Care Support ST-1A in Illinois, UHC Dual Complete ME-S2 in Maine, and UHC Dual Complete NY-S002 in New York list SafeRide at 1-866-244-3123. Two Florida plans list SafeRide at 1-888-462-6043. Some plans use another vendor, so check each plan's sheet.
How many free rides does UnitedHealthcare Medicare Advantage give?
It depends on the plan. UnitedHealthcare says its plans offer anywhere from 12 to an unlimited number of trips a year. In CMS's 2026 file, the most common limit is 24 one-way trips, followed by 36, and only 9 of 274 ride plans have no limit. A round trip counts as two trips, and the member pays for rides past the limit.
Does UnitedHealthcare Medicare Advantage cover wheelchair or stretcher rides?
Wheelchair rides, yes. UnitedHealthcare lists wheelchair and XL wheelchair rides in accessible vans, including lift-equipped and bariatric vehicles, and its plans offer wheelchair vans on request. Stretcher rides depend on the plan. The general benefit leaves them out, and so does the 2026 San Antonio plan TX-0043, but the Miami-Dade plan FL-0028 offers stretcher transport if needed.
How far ahead do UnitedHealthcare members book rides?
At least 2 business days before a routine appointment and no earlier than 2 weeks before it. Rides for hospital discharges, chemotherapy, radiation, wound care, dialysis, and urgent care can be booked with less notice, as long as the request comes at least 4 hours ahead. Some group retiree plans allow booking up to 30 days out.
Official resources
- Medicare.gov: Medicare Plan Finder (plans sold in your ZIP code)
- SafeRide Health: UnitedHealthcare member pages by state
- SafeRide Health: Join the NEMT network
- MTM Health: Apply to join the network
- Preferred Care Network: 2026 vendor information by plan (Miami-Dade and Broward)
- CMS: PBP Benefits 2026 (every plan's filed benefits)